Leaking the best in gaming news

Some Bit. Trip CORE art

This was a pain to make but it was totally worth it!

I first started with a few sketches.  I actually finished the art right now so I’m way too tired and through with this project so I have no scans.

Next I made a little prototype version seen above.  I was actually pretty happy with this at first but I didn’t like the angle and Commander Video was a bit too “thick”.  This thing took maybe 30 minutes or at the most an hour to make.

Next I made a thinner version and at a different angle.  This actually actually took a few days to make surprisingly.  I was having trouble with the angle it was in.  You’d think it would be easy seeing how the design isn’t as complex but I guess I had a huge brain fart.

After this I had a huge problem as I didn’t know what to do with the background.  I mean the backgrounds in the Bit.Trip games are super complex for me.  I was so freaked out because I wasn’t skilled enough to make it.

In the above picture the red originally supposed to be a sort of desert thing.  I don’t know why really but I chose that.  It was supposed to have mountains and everything.

The random dots appearing are just what they are, random.  I was originally going to have bunch of different dots appearing from different sides of the screen but it was too much of a hassle to make it work as I had to make sure that it would a complete repeating animation and I really didn’t want to calculate each thing.

Anyway I decided to make the red into a border instead and really I feel the random dots are a bit out of place but I really don’t want to fix it right now.

This project was done frame by frame, on MS paint, with multiple layers.

It took about 4 days to complete.  I’m exhausted.

Oh and check out my previous Bit.Trip art!

4 responses

  1. Dude. This is WILD!

    May 21, 2009 at 1:54 pm

  2. osb1842

    Now also to be found on the ol’ fan art page:

    http://www.commandervideo.com/fanart.html

    Keep rocking out the CVs 😉

    May 22, 2009 at 12:42 am

  3. Pingback: Bit.Trip FATE fanart « Battery Acid

Leave a Reply

